CapCut alternative for talking-head videos
Choose CapCut if you want to build the edit yourself in a full editor, on desktop, phone or tablet. Choose Rushly AI if you filmed one person talking to the camera and want the edit done for you: you upload the video, pick a style, and get back a 9:16 MP4 to review. Rushly AI is a competitor of CapCut. CapCut's pricing page showed baht, not dollars, when we read it, so this page does not convert its prices.
By Quentin, video editor, founder of Rushly AI. Rushly AI competes with CapCut. Pages read on November 3, 2026.
CapCut in brief
| What we read | |
|---|---|
| What it is | A video editor from ByteDance, on desktop, online in the browser, tablet and mobile (CapCut pricing page). |
| Captions | Auto Captions on web, PC and mobile: pick a language, press Generate (CapCut help, March 24, 2026). The help page does not list the languages. |
| Filler words | Desktop: an option under Auto captions highlights words like "um" and "uh"; you delete or adjust them before export (CapCut filler-words page, undated). |
| Plans | Free, Pro, Ultra, Teams (2 seats or more). |
| Prices shown | In Thai baht: Pro 375 a month or 2,400 a year; Ultra 2,600 a month or 29,900 a year; Teams 172.5 a month per seat (2 seats) or 1,095 a year per seat. For reference only; the final price appears after sign-in. |
| Free plan | Free templates and basic editing tools. Watermark, export length and resolution are not stated on the pricing page. |
| Trial | 7 days of Pro, no credit card; can vary by region, platform and promotion. |
| Limits | You assemble the edit yourself. Language list for auto captions not given. Retakes and automatic zoom not found in the pages we read. |
If you want this, choose that
| If you want… | Choose… |
|---|---|
| A full editor with a timeline, templates and AI image or video generation | CapCut |
| To review an edit instead of building one: a raw talking-head take in, a 9:16 MP4 out | Rushly AI |
| A caption-first tool with B-roll, music and scheduled posting | Submagic, see Rushly AI as an alternative to Submagic |
| An editing app on iPhone or Android with an auto-edit for one speaker | Captions, see Rushly AI as an alternative to Captions |
| To edit by transcript, or to share a project with a team | Descript, VEED or Kapwing, see the comparison |
CapCut and Rushly AI on a talking-head video
| CapCut | Rushly AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Filler words | Desktop, via Auto captions; you review and delete them (filler-words page) | Cut as part of the edit; see remove filler words |
| Failed or repeated takes | Not found in the pages we read | Cut; an idea said only once is never cut |
| Captions | Auto Captions plus caption templates listed in the menu (help, pricing page) | Animated word-by-word captions in a style you pick (animated captions) |
| Zooms | Not found in the pages we read | Placed as part of the edit |
| Languages | Auto-caption languages not listed ("multiple languages" on the tool page) | Edits in French, English, Spanish and Portuguese |
| Where it runs | Desktop, web, tablet, mobile (pricing page) | Browser only; a mobile version is planned |
| Export | Up to 4K on desktop; a 9:16 TikTok preset can lock output at 1080p (CapCut export help, January 2026) | MP4, 1080×1920 |
| Price | Pro 375 baht a month on the page we read (see above) | Solo $24, Creator $49, Pro $99, $189 or $349 a month; 30% off billed annually. Prices shown on the home page on November 3, 2026 |
| Free | Free plan, limits not stated on the pricing page | First video free, no credit card, with a watermark; paid plans remove it |
CapCut is paid: what can you do?
CapCut has a free plan and three paid ones. Here is what the pages we read say, and what they leave open.
- Stay on Free. The pricing page says Free includes free templates and basic editing tools. It does not state the watermark, the maximum export length or the resolution. A CapCut help page on online export says free accounts may get a watermark or a limited 4K bitrate, and that Pro has no such restriction. Run a test export before you commit to a long project.
- Try Pro for 7 days. The FAQ on the pricing page announces a 7-day Pro trial without a credit card, varying by region, platform and promotion. Note the date the trial ends. If you subscribe, Pro and Teams renew automatically.
- Read the real price after you sign in. The page we read showed baht and said the final price, taxes and offers appear after sign-in. The currency seemed tied to the detected region. We found no price in dollars, and we do not convert.
- Check what Pro adds. Pro lists 1,300 AI credits a month, 1 TB of storage and premium models; Ultra lists 28,371 AI credits a month.
- Try a tool that does only one job. If your videos are talking-head takes, Rushly AI gives you the first video free, with a watermark. It does the editing for you instead of giving you an editor.
When CapCut is the right choice
- You want a full editor with a timeline, on desktop, mobile and tablet. Rushly AI runs in the browser only, and a mobile version is planned.
- You want templates, image generation or AI video generation. CapCut's menu lists an AI video generator and an image generator. Rushly AI does not generate video or images.
- You need more than 1080×1920. CapCut exports up to 4K on desktop (3840×2160 at 60 frames per second). Rushly AI exports 1080×1920.
- You want a free plan that stays free. Rushly AI offers one free video, not a standing free plan.
- Your video is not one person talking to the camera. A full editor handles any footage.
When Rushly AI is the right choice
- You filmed a vertical video of yourself and would rather review an edit than build one.
- You want the cuts, captions and zooms chosen in one pass. Rushly AI removes silences, filler words and failed or repeated takes, adds animated captions and zooms, cleans your voice and brings the sound to a standard level (-14 LUFS).
- You want to know the cost before you start. The plans and what they include are on the home page.
What Rushly AI does not do: it adds no B-roll, no music and no sound effects; it exports only 1080×1920 MP4; it works in the browser, not on a phone yet; and it is built for a raw take of one person, not as an editor with a timeline. For a short comparison with other kinds of tools, read what an AI video editor does. For what a person charges, read what a video editor costs.
Cancel or switch
- CapCut: Pro and Teams renew automatically. Cancel at least 24 hours before the renewal date, on the platform where you subscribed (web, PC or mobile).
- CapCut refunds: the help page and the terms of service do not say the same thing (see the FAQ below).
- Rushly AI: you cancel in one click from your account.
The full table for CapCut and six other tools is in how to cancel an AI video editor subscription.
Sources
Pages read on November 3, 2026:
- CapCut, pricing and FAQ: capcut.com/pricing (redirects to capcut.com/fr-fr/pricing)
- CapCut help, Auto captions (March 24, 2026): capcut.com/help/auto-captions
- CapCut, filler words: capcut.com/tools/filler-words
- CapCut, auto caption generator: capcut.com/tools/auto-caption-generator
- CapCut help, exporting videos (January 2026): capcut.com/help/export-videos-in-capcut ; capcut.com/help/no-2k-or-4k-option-for-export
- CapCut help, cancel subscription (March 25, 2026): capcut.com/help/cancel-subscription
- CapCut terms of service, section 7 (updated April 15, 2026): capcut.com/clause/terms-of-service
- Rushly AI: prices and features as shown on the home page on November 3, 2026.
Want to see what Rushly AI does with your talking-head video? Upload it and pick a style: your first video is free, with no credit card.
Frequently asked questions
Is CapCut free?
CapCut has a Free plan with free templates and basic editing tools, plus Pro, Ultra and Teams plans. Its pricing page, read on November 3, 2026, does not state the watermark, maximum export length or resolution of the Free plan. A CapCut help page says free accounts exporting online may get a watermark or a limited 4K bitrate. Check an export before you spend hours on a project.
How much does CapCut Pro cost?
On the pricing page we read on November 3, 2026, prices were shown in Thai baht: Pro at 375 a month or 2,400 a year. CapCut says the prices are for reference and that the final price, taxes and offers appear after you sign in. We found no price in dollars on that page and we do not convert. The page also lists a 7-day Pro trial with no credit card, which can vary by region, platform and promotion.
Can CapCut remove filler words like um and uh?
On desktop, yes. CapCut's filler-words page says to open Captions, then Auto captions, tick the filler-words option and press Generate. The detected words are highlighted and you delete or adjust them before you export. That page describes only the desktop flow, is undated, and does not say whether the feature needs a paid plan.
Does CapCut cut failed takes or add zooms automatically?
We did not find either in the CapCut pages we read on November 3, 2026. That does not prove the app lacks them, only that its pricing, help and tool pages do not describe them. Rushly AI cuts failed and repeated takes and places zooms as part of one edit.
What is the difference between CapCut and Rushly AI?
CapCut is a full editor that you operate: timeline, templates, captions, export, on desktop, web, tablet and mobile. Rushly AI is an auto-editor for one person talking to the camera: you upload the video, pick a style, and get back a 9:16 MP4. Rushly AI works in the browser only, with a mobile version planned, and it competes with CapCut.
Can I get a refund from CapCut?
CapCut's help page says purchases are generally not refundable, with an exception for double billing. Its terms of service, section 7, updated April 15, 2026, say a full refund is possible within 14 calendar days of starting a subscription if you have not used the Premium services in any form, and give users in the EU and UK a 14-day right of withdrawal. The two texts do not say the same thing, so check the policy in force on the day you cancel.
Last updated :